FOREST — Sophomore punter Grayson Harvey leads a quartet of Ferrum College football players who have earned all-league honors in the NCAA Division III Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC).

The 2019 first, second and third-team honorees and the individual award winners were announced Tuesday.

The Panthers finished the campaign with a 4-6 record (3-5 in the ODAC), their first losing season since 2015.

Nineteen players have completed their eligibility, while more than 80 players have remaining eligibility.

Harvey, a first-team selection on defense, finished the season ranked third in Division III in punting with a 44.3 yard average. He punted 47 times for 2,080 yards and was the top-rated punter in the ODAC for most of the season.

In five games this past season, Harvey had at least one punt cover more than 60 yards. His best punt this season traveled 66, which ranks third in program history, and came in a home contest against 2018 league champion and Division III playoff participant Randolph-Macon College.

The all-conference honor is the first for Harvey, who hails from Lynchburg.

Jordan Patti, a senior offensive lineman from Moneta, is a second-team choice.

Patti has earned all-conference accolades in two leagues in the USA South Athletic Conference in 2016 (second team) and 2017 (first team) and in the ODAC in 2018 (second team) and 2019 (second-team).

Patti played an instrumental role in helping the Panthers surpass the 30-point mark six times this season and post a 4-2 record in those games: 55 in a win over Greensboro (North Carolina) College, 45 in a victory over Guilford (North Carolina) College, 31 in a triumph over Southern Virginia University, 35 in loss to Shenandoah University, 31 in a win over Hampden-Sydney College and 36 in a setback to Emory & Henry College.

Taylor Brown, a senior linebacker from Forest, and Jaquice Sydnor, a senior defensive back from Martinsville, are third-team choices.

Brown, All-USA South player in 2016, his redshirt freshman year, registered 54 tackles, 34 of which were solo stops and six for negative yardage.

Brown recovered two fumbles, one of which he returned 48 yards for a touchdown in his final college game against league foe Emory & Henry College.

Brown scored a touchdown on a fake punt in his penultimate college contest — a road conference victory over Hampden-Sydney College. He took a direct snap from center dashed 65 yards for a touchdown during a 17-0 fourth-quarter scoring surge by the Panthers.

Sydnor, a first-time all-conference honoree, recorded 42 tackles, 30 of which were solo stops. He forced a fumble, broke up six passes and intercepted one and returned it 15 yards.

Two former Franklin County prep standouts have garnered all-conference recognition: Tyler Weterrings, a senior offensive lineman for Emory & Henry and Kaleb Smith, a sophomore running back for Hampden-Sydney.

Wetterings, who is from Glade Hill, is a three-time All-ODAC player: a second-team choice in 2017 and a two-time first-team selection in 2018 and 2019.

Wetterings anchored an offensive line that aided in the production of a 39.1 points-per-game average and an average of 172 rushing yards-per-game.

Emory & Henry (6-2 in the ODAC, 7-3 overall), which surpassed the 50-point mark three times this season, achieved its first winning season since 2016.

The Wasps finished third in the nine-team ODAC after being tabbed for a six-place showing in preseason.

Weterrings is one of 14 Emory & Henry players who earned all-league laurels.

Smith, last year’s ODAC Rookie of the Year, battled injuries throughout the campaign and saw on-field action in only six games, five of which he started.

Smith, who is from Rocky Mount, totaled 654 all-purpose yards, 362 rushing and 292 receiving, and scored four touchdowns, two rushing and two receiving, and one 2-point conversion via the rush.

A two-time all-league honoree, Smith has appeared in 14 games in his career, six of which are starts, and has accumulated 1,917 all-purpose yards: 964 rushing and 953 receiving. He has scored 13 touchdowns.

Smith is one of six Hampden-Sydney players to earn all-conference recognition.

ODAC champion Bridgewater College captured four of the league’s five individual accolades: Offensive Player of the Year (quarterback Jay Scroggins), Defensive Player of the Year (linebacker Re’Shaun Myers), Rookie of the Year (receiver Viante Tucker) and Coach of the Year (Mike Clark).

The Eagles finished regular-season play with a 10-0 record and a 14-game winning streak dating to last year.

Bridgewater which was nationally-ranked entering postseason play, suffered its lone loss of the season, 30-22, to nationally-ranked Delaware Valley (Penn.) University at home in the opening round of the Division III playoffs.

Washington & Lee University senior offensive lineman Sean Clark is the Virginia Farm Bureau Insurance Scholar-Athlete Award recipient.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.