Ferrum's Tim Ortega earns first-team ODAC laurels

Ferrum College junior catcher, shown taking a pitch during an at-bat against Guilford (North Carolina) College in a game played at W.B. Adams Field, has earned first-team All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) accolades for the 2019 season by a vote of the league’s head baseball coaches.

FOREST — Ferrum College junior catcher Tim Ortega has earned first-team All-Old Dominion Athletic Conference (ODAC) honors in baseball for the 2019 season, the Panthers’ first in the conference, by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Ortega, who saw action in all 40 of Ferrum’s games, batted a team-best .396 with a team-best 16 doubles, one triple, seven home runs and a team-best 43 RBIs.

Ortega carried an on-base percentage of .464 and a slugging percentage of .649, both team-best averages.

On defense, Ortega’s fielding percentage was .981- he was charged with five errors. He was involved in three double plays, threw out 13 runners attempting to steal and was charged with three passed balls.

Ortega ranked third in the ODAC in hitting and third in RBIs.

Ortega is joined on the first team by Nick Roth (starting pitcher), Michael Zubovich (starting pitcher), Mike Nickles (third baseman) and Shawn Nickles (outfielder) of Randolph-Macon College; Kevin Ledford (relief pitcher) and Will Smith (outfielder) of Roanoke College; Jordan McDonough (first baseman) and Jacob Pilarski (utility) of Virginia Wesleyan University; Chase Counts (second baseman) and Matthew Spagnolo (designated hitter) of Hampden-Sydney College; Jacob Talley (shortstop) of Bridgewater College; and Ben Sexton (outfielder) of Emory & Henry College.

Pilarski is a repeat first-team choice.

Mike Nickles, a junior, is the Player of the Year and Roth, a senior, is the Pitcher of the Year.

Also, Randolph-Macon head coach Ray Hedrick is the Coach of the Year, University of Lynchburg freshman third baseman/pitcher Garrett Jackson is the Rookie of the Year and Roanoke senior third baseman Jack Howard is the Farm Bureau Scholar-Athlete for baseball.

Ferrum placed three players on the second team: starting pitcher Drew Calohan, a junior, third baseman Kyle Anstice, a junior, and outfielder Josh Greenway, a sophomore.

Calohan, a lefthander, appeared in 12 games, 10 of which were starts, and finished the season with a 7-4 record, 3.46 earned-run-average (ERA) and one complete game.

In 70 2/3 innings, Calohan yielded 67 hits and 31 runs, 27 of which were earned. He walked 28 struck out 54 and surrendered two home runs.

Also, Calohan was a position player for the Panthers; he saw action at first base and right field at various times during the season. He batted .341 with six doubles and eight RBIs.

Calohan was tied for fourth in the ODAC in wins.

Anstice batted .356 with 10 doubles, a team-best eight home runs and 26 RBIs.

Anstice was tied for third in the league in home runs.

Greenway batted .373 with eight doubles, two triples, one home run and 29 RBIs.

Also named to the second team are Hunter Campbell (starting pitcher) of Lynchburg; Gerard DePhillips (relief pitcher) and Robert Marcelle (shortstop) of Shenandoah University; Ray Tricarico (catcher) and Jordan Jones (outfielder) of Eastern Mennonite University; Tyler Blevins (first baseman) and Jacob Bartlett (outfielder) of Hampden-Sydney; Jeff Butler (second baseman) of Randolph-Macon; Cameron Stanley (designated hitter) of Bridgewater; and Mitchell Stumpo (utility) of Guilford (North Carolina) College.

Ferrum senior relief pitcher Noah Collins, a left-hander, made the third team. He appeared in 14 games and finished with a 1-1 record with one save and a 1.43 ERA. He struck out 23 batters in 25 1/3 innings of work.

Also, Ferrum senior first baseman Nathaniel Anthony earned third-team laurels. He batted .353 with 14 doubles, one triple, two home runs and 24 RBIs.

Joining Collins and Anthony on the third team are Connor Lutz (starting pitcher) and Jaylon Lee (outfielder) of Eastern Mennonite; Chase Mayberry (starting pitcher) of Hampden-Sydney; Santiago Meneses (relief pitcher) and Kinston Carson (utility) of Lynchburg; Gavin McKandrick (catcher) and Jack Howard (third base) of Roanoke; Tristan Baker (second base) and Keegan Woolford (outfielder) of Shenandoah; Brady Fallon (shortstop) of Virginia Wesleyan; Ryan Monson (outfield) of Washington and Lee University; and Corbin Hockensmith (designated hitter) of Emory & Henry.

Other repeat all-conference honorees are Roth, Butler, Marcelle, Stanley, Baker, Howard, Fallon and Woolford.

Ferrum finished the season with a 22-18 record in in a third-place tie in the ODAC with Shenandoah and Virginia Wesleyan at the end of regular-season play.

Counting its two losses in conference postseason play, Ferrum was 13-11 versus ODAC opposition.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.