Roger Seale, a Rocky Mount South precinct worker at the Pigg River Community Center, checks in a Franklin County voter during the first hour that local polls were open for Tuesday’s election. Local voters had the opportunity to cast ballots for Virginia State Senate, Virginia House of Delegates, Franklin County Board of Supervisors, Franklin County School Board, Franklin County Sheriff, Franklin County Commonwealth Attorney, Franklin County Commissioner of Revenue and Soil and Water Conservation District representatives.

Sheriff Bill Overton Jr. will remain the Franklin County Sheriff after garnering 56 percent of the vote over challenger J. Riley Hodges. Overton received 9,562 votes while Hodges received 7,467, according to final but unofficial results from the Virginia Department of Elections.

Commonwealth’s Attorney A.J. Dudley eked out a win over challenger Steve Maddy with Dudley receiving nearly 55 percent of the vote or 9,050 votes while Maddy received 7,371.

Voters also cast ballots for four open seats each on the Franklin County School Board and the Franklin County Board of Supervisors as well as for the commissioner of the revenue.

Incumbent Margaret Torrence will remain commissioner of the revenue after capturing 8,392 votes. Challenger Andy Turner received 7,990 votes.

Seven candidates vied for four county supervisor seats. Timothy Tatum was unopposed for the Blue Ridge District seat. Ronald Mitchell Jr. unseated incumbent Cline Brubaker for the Blackwater District spot. Mitchell received 1,377 votes while Brubaker received 1,052.

Tommy Cundiff captured the Union Hall District seat with 1,456 votes to John Hinkell’s 1,096.

Lorie Smith took nearly 64 percent of the ballots cast, with 1,911 votes, to top Rick Smithers, with 923 votes, for the Gills Creek District seat. Incumbent Supervisor Bob Camicia opted not to seek reelection.

The Franklin County School Board will see two new faces as well as two incumbents.

Ann Artlet Greer will represent the Blackwater District and Jon Atchue will represent Gills Creek. Julie Nix and P.D. Hambrick retained their seats in the Blue Ridge and Union Hall districts, respectively. All were unopposed.

Daphne Jamison and Joel Bowman retained their seats as Soil and Water Conservation directors in the Blue Ridge District.

Franklin County Treasurer Susan Wray also will retain her seat.

See Friday’s Franklin News Post for more post-election coverage.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.