Callaway Elementary and Burnt Chimney Elementary chess teams went home champions after the Franklin County Gateway Program’s 22nd annual Chess for Kids Tournament held Friday, Nov. 15 at Benjamin Franklin Middle School.

More than 200 students from all county elementary schools participated in the tournament.

Beginner and intermediate level participants played three 30-minute matches. Students who won all three matches were awarded a chess medal during the awards ceremony, which followed match play.

Each chess player received a certificate of participation and a t-shirt.

There were no advanced level teams this year due to a shortage of participants.

“We had less than a handful of students submitted to play at the advanced level by their chess coach,” said Jodie Robinson, Gateway program coordinator for Franklin County schools. “In order to make this division run smoothly, and be fair to the students playing at the advanced level, we needed to have more students.”

School teams were awarded trophies at both the beginner and intermediate levels, based on a score generated by the number of wins for the team.

“The Gateway program would like to express appreciation to the students, parents, coaches, principals, judges and tournament statistician Matt Mills, who made the chess program and tournament such a successful event,” Robinson said. “A special thank you to the BFMS administrative and custodial staff for sharing their building for the tournament venue.”

The tournament winners are as follows:

Beginner level:

Individual medal winners: Cayden Police, Dulce Garcia-Sanchez, Ella Newbill, Alaina Jamison, Colby Hale, Emma McPherson, Ethan Drew, Jared Horton, Anna Perdue, Kevin Galvan-Martinez, Malachi Johnston, Ryland Mitchell, Haylie Wright and Ian Jester.

School team winners: Callaway (first place), Snow Creek (second place), Burnt Chimney (third place).

Intermediate level:

Individual medal winners: Jaxon Routt, Will Gillispie, Zachary Irish, Braden Hill, Juyoung Lee, Andrew Montgomery, Christopher McGuire and Reid Workman.

School team winners: Burnt Chimney (first place), Windy Gap (second place), Snow Creek (third place).

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.