Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, May 22, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

The Willard Companies - Click for Website
One newcomer wins seat on RM Town Council
Click to Enlarge
Jon Snead

Friday, May 9, 2014

By KEN BRADLEY - Staff Writer

Rocky Mount Town Council will have a new member as a result of Tuesday's election.

Jon Snead, a local businessman, will replace Jerry Greer, who received the lowest number of votes in the four-man race for the three seats up for election.

Incumbents Bobby Cundiff and Bobby Moyer were re-elected.

The unofficial vote tallies are as follows: Cundiff, 356 votes; Moyer, 371 votes; Snead, 353 votes; and Greer, 267 votes.

Mayor Steve Angle, who ran unopposed, received 450 votes.

Council members and the mayor serve four-year terms.

Cundiff, a retired business man with 42 years of retail and business experience said he sought re-election because, "I'd like to work on the issues, especially water and sewer, continue to meet our commitments and eliminate debt."

Moyer, who is a retired businessman and served as a town police officer for 13 years, said he would be a conservative voice on council and make responsible decisions for the citizens.

Snead said he ran for a seat on council for the first time because he wanted to "give back to the community that has given so much to me and my family."

He said economic development is "first and foremost to him and the town must work to fill empty storefronts and create a town that becomes a destination for visitors."

Greer, who is the owner of Pizza King, made no official announcement of his intention to seek re-election but filed the necessary paperwork to be on the ballot. He is president of We Care of Franklin County.

Angle, who has served as mayor of Rocky Mount for eight years, said he sought re-election to the post because Rocky Mount has seen much progress, and "I'd like to see that progress continue for the citizens."

Boones Mill voters returned incumbents Mike Smith, Craig Drewry and Peggy Steele to town council in Tuesday's election. The three ran unopposed.

A breakdown of the votes are as follows; Drewry, 12 votes; Smith, 13 votes; and Steele, 15 votes.

Keith B. Chrisman also ran unopposed in a special election to fill the seat of Richard Miller, who resigned in November 2013. Chrisman received 10 votes.

Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website