Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, May 22, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

Autos By Nelson - Click for Website
FCHS students win awards for science projects
18 local winners at governor’s school forum
Click to Enlarge
Courtesy Photo: Travis Bowman (from left), James Wood, Garrett Ruggieri, Alexus McBride, Johnathan Robinson, Gwyneth Strope and Cameron Church represent a few of the award winners at the 2014 Project Forum at the Roanoke Valley Governor’s School for Science and Technology.

Monday, February 17, 2014


Eighteen Franklin County High School students won awards at the 2014 Project Forum at the Roanoke Valley Governor's School for Science and Technology.

The students spent several weeks in independent research, product development and preparation of their projects.

The Governor's School is a regional school, located in Roanoke, which serves highly-motivated students from the counties of Franklin, Bedford, Botetourt, Craig and Roanoke and the cities of Roanoke and Salem.

"We had a very good showing," said gifted and talented coordinator Jodie Robinson. "After having seen their projects, I was amazed at both their research and how well they were able to express their findings. These students were extremely composed and represented our school division well. They are all winners in my mind."

The award winners from FCHS, by categories, are:

•Plant Sciences A: Travis Bowman, 2nd Place.

•Animal Sciences B: Devin McCulley, 3rd Place.

•Energy and Transportation: Christopher Tomley and James Wood, 3rd Place; Judges Award for Best Visual Design.

•Engineering: Electrical and Mechanical: Austin Boone, Judges Award for Outstanding Creativity.

•Engineering: Materials and Bioengineering A - Alexus McBride,1st Place.

•Engineering: Materials and Bioengineering B: Gwyneth Strope, 1st Place; Marilyn Alcorn, Jason Fischell and Johnathan Robinson, 3rd Place; John (Davis) Daniel, Judges Award for Outstanding Computer Analysis.

•Environmental Science/ Environmental Management A: Thomas Kellison, Judges Award for Outstanding Experimental Design.

•Environmental Science/ Environmental Management C: Dalton Ruggieri, 2nd Place.

•Mathematics/Computer Science: Amanda Fike, 3rd Place.

•Medicine and Health/Behavioral and Social Science: Emily Philpott,1st Place.

•Microbiology: Vanessa Lin, Judges Award for Outstanding Poster Display.

•Robotic Engineering: Cameron Church and Marissa Riley, Judges Award for Best Real World Use.

Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website