Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Monday, May 25, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

The Willard Companies - Click for Website
School board recognizes outstanding students
Click to Enlarge
Photo by Stephanie Cook: School Board Members applaud students who received National Honor Roll Status in the Noetic Learning Math Contest.

Monday, February 3, 2014

By STEPHANIE COOK - Special to the News-Post

The Franklin County School Board hosted a ceremony last week in the high school auditorium to recognize the accomplishments of students.

"We have outstanding students and we appreciate what happens every day in our classrooms to help them achieve their goals," said Dr. Mark Church, school superintendent.

Winners in the 16th annual Chess Tournament for Kids were presented certificates by GATEWAY Coordinator Jodie Robinson.

First-place beginner level winners from Burnt Chimney Elementary include Corbin Bower, Maddi Brown, Courtney Bryant, Chandler Drake, Jordan Drake, Logan Jones, Robbie Knot, Claudia Layman, Cynthia Lin, Ryan Miller, Erica-Blake Sellars, Madeline Sellers and Jack Thompson.

First-place intermediate level winners from Burnt Chimney Elementary include Gavin Beckner, Jacob Brown, Luke Faber, C.J. Hall, Kaleb Hall, Colby Hatcher, Bradley Holmes, Michael Hurt, Stefan Knott, Brandon Peevey and William Scott.

Advanced Medal winners include Riley Wood from Boones Mill Elementary and Jackson Sherman from Snow Creek Elementary.

Several students from Franklin County schools were recognized for achieving National Honor Roll Status at the November 2013 Noetic Learning Math Competition.

Benjamin Franklin Middle School honored four students who were chosen for All District Band this fall, including Ben Hancock, Hannah McPherson, Hope Rosenblatt and John Thomas Turner.

BFMS students recognized as winners in the American Mathematics Competition at VMI include Andrew Clark (first place), Jennifer Fike and Daniel Hancock (tied for second place) and Nicholas Robinson (third place).

For the second consecutive year, Franklin County High School's newspaper, The Eagle, received a first-place award in the Virginia High School League's annual state competition.

"All the time I ask myself why I am I doing this, and then I see what these ladies are doing and I know what I am doing this for," said Eagle faculty advisor Dave Campbell.

During the ceremony, seven works of art by art students at FCHS were displayed across the stage. These works will be exhibited at the Taubman Museum of Art as part of the ninth annual Best in Show event for the Roanoke Valley SPCA. Each of the seven artists received a certificate of recognition for their work. Those artists are Mariah Boone, Brittany Crook, Amanda Dameron, Jessica Didlake, Ellen Duvall, Anna Ervin and Amanda Wood.

"It's always a pleasure to participate in any event that recognizes our students' accomplishments," said FCHS Principal Deborah Decker.

Honors were also presented to student athletes who have shown exemplary performance in their respective sports.

The Franklin County Cheerleading Squad has been honored with their 10th district championship in a row. They also placed second in Conference 3 and placed eighth in Region 6A South.

Region 6A South qualifying cross country athletes are Leanna Carter, Angela Dorss, Irina Johnson, Taylor Lambert, Josh Lawson, Andres Lopez, Emily Philpott, Ben Ramsey, Jonathan Rorrer, Katrina Shaw and Brooke Thornton.

Jacob Barton, Amelia Bousman and Tyler Williams also qualified for the Piedmont All District Team.

Football players receiving certificates include Carlton Adams, Jack Boone, Andrew Harris, Hunter Ingram, Garret Jennings, Alveno Matthews, Logan Palmer, Bradley Parcell and Jonathan Saunders.

Franklin County's golf team was named Piedmont District Champions for the fifth tournament championship in a row. They were also Conference 3 champions.

Golf athletes receiving special honors include Brice Arrington, Robbie Canipe and Landon Prillaman.

Volleyball athletes receiving certificates were Mikayla Cannaday, Mackenzie Chitwood, Caitlyn Churn, Sierra Gardner and Ann Taylor Walker.

"I would like to give a shout out to all the parents, guardians, advisors and coaches," said school board Chair Sarah Alexander. "You are what makes this all possible."

Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website