The Franklin News-Post|
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Friday, September 6, 2013
By K.A. WAGONER - Staff Writer
The Franklin County Sheriff's Office has developed a permit process for scrap metal sales.
On July 1, legislation went into effect in Virginia that requires anyone who "regularly engages" in purchasing or acquiring secondhand building materials to purchase a scrap metal dealer permit.
Although the new law went into effect in July, local law enforcement was not aware of the permit process in time to develop a new policy for the issuance of permits at that time, according to Major Harry Clingenpeel.
Residents who sell small quantities of scrap metal will not be required to obtain a permit, Clingenpeel said. Unless an individual sells more than 600 pounds of metal in one year or initiates more than 26 transactions annually, no permit will be required.
Aluminum cans are exempt from the new law, he added. Only scrap metal containing iron or steel or secondhand building materials will require a permit if the sales are over the set limits.
Permits may now be obtained by filing an application with the sheriff's office. Applications may be obtained at any scrap metal purchaser in the county, sheriff's office, Treasurer's Office or Commissioner of Revenue's Office.
Applications will be accepted every Monday and Wednesday from 7 to 10 p.m. at the Franklin County Jail at 70 East Court Street in Rocky Mount.
Applicants must present valid photo identification (driver's license, identification card), pay a $25 processing fee (cash or money order) and submit a set of fingerprints to be eligible for the permit. An affidavit on the application must also be signed stating that the applicant has not been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude in the last three years.
Permits are valid for one year from the date of issue and must be renewed annually. Anyone wishing to obtain a permit must do so by Oct. 1, 2013. Violation of this order may result in a fine of up to $500 for the first offense and a fine of up to $2,500 and/or up to 12 months in jail for a second or subsequent offense.
The goal of the new law is to curb thefts of copper and other scrap metal from businesses and homes, Clingenpeel said.
Scrap metal dealers will be required to keep extensive records of purchases, he added, and will be required to provide those records to the sheriff's office.