Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, November 28, 2014
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

Autos By Nelson - Click for Website
Students display art at the Essig Center
Exhibit represents the creativity of county youth
Click to Enlarge
Works of student art were on display at the Essig Center .

Monday, April 29, 2013


Ribbons and certificates were presented Wednesday night to each student whose art was chosen for the Franklin County Public Schools' 2013 Spring Art Show.

"All the art in the exhibit represents the finest works from our county students," said Rebecca Conklin, event coordinator.

Students displayed their artwork at the YMCA Essig Center last week. Works of art chosen by county art teachers were included in the exhibit, which was viewed by parents, teachers and friends.

Three musical groups, coordinated by Fair Robey, performed at a recognition ceremony, including pianist Mariah Banks from Franklin County High School, The Singing Panthers from Ferrum Elementary School and violin performers from Benjamin Franklin Middle School.

Rebecca Burdette, an eighth grader at The Gereau Center, designed the art for the front cover of the event program.

The following is a list of the students whose art was chosen for the exhibit:

Franklin County High School - Abigail Adams, Alana Alley, Hannah Antley, Nolan Aubuchon, Ngoc Bui, Madison Chisom, Amelia Ruth-Cooper, Jillian Coury, Ariel Dorss, Sarah Jo Draper, Ellen Duvall, Tyler Farrington, Cassidy Fischell, Evasmo Guadarrama, Tristan Grindstaff, Allie Hall, Kate Lydon, Morgan Makeeff, Jessica Meller, Eva Meyer, Katana Michael, Cassity Peters, Judy Phillips, Johnathan Rorrer, Hunter Sanders, Caitlin Spencer, Libby Stewart, Matthew Walker, Stefan Ward and Connor Zeller.

The Gereau Center - Logan Akers, Farrah Boothe, Amelia Bousman, Summer Brooks, Austin Brown, Rebecca Burdette, Justin Campbell, Miriam Cooper, Palmer Hanes, Chloe Harmon, Levi Haskins, Mykah Heaslip, Autumn Jennings, Jennifer Kowinsky, Jeanna McCarthy, Brittany McGhee, Kaitlyn McKern, Megan Thompson, William Turbyfill, Jared Vest and Ian Wilson.

BFMS East - Wyatt Boyce, Zachary Altice, Morgan McGuire, Cheyenne Anderson, Morgan Lambert, Chloe Newbill, Savannah Hill, Nicole Buruse, Samantha Richardson, Lauren Thornton, Cameron Dillon, Harley Foley, Skye Smith, Katlyn Wolsiefer, Taylor McPherson, Nghi Tran, Juan Hernandez and Pilar Hernandez.

BFMS West - Victoria Olatunbosun, Sevannah Romero, Morgana Moran, Savannah Scott, Matthew Housman, Paige Haddock, Laura Ruiz, Cheyenne Wray, Madeline Lilly, Carlie Robertson, Lucas Tyree and Tara Sanders.

Dudley Elementary - Dathryn Davis, Reid Davis, Owen Donald, Olivia Dow, Kira Dunn, Skylar Grigorieff, Faith Gunnell, Will Henderson, Claire Kinser, Carson Munnikhuysen, Ashley Patrick and Emilee Wickline.

Windy Gap Elementary - Stephanie Chisom, Brandon Davis, Jack Dubyk, Rylee Elwell, Jadyn Hill, Kirsten Hutchinson, Matt King, Brennan Pagans, Gatlin Ridgwell, Grace Roberts and Mya Blizzard.

Lee M. Waid Elementary - Juan Chavez-Guzman, Raniya'h Brown, Laila Beard, Ashton Hylton, Alex Black, Elaina Jones, Xzavian Trotter, Alexis Carter, Haley Newton, Allison Fitzgerald and Destiny Hodges.

Rocky Mount Elementary - Ethan Tolley, D'Marquis Boben, Renata Lopez, Kali Arrington, Laurie Bower, Magdalena Lopez, Harmony Clark, Jamie Sherr, Payton Jones, Zachory Swanson and Kelly Barbour.

Burnt Chimney Elementary - Marianne Alcorn, Jaden Bernard, Autumn Colomba, Gaby Gudiel, Claire McElvain, Hunter Radford, Erica Blake Sellars, Cameron Taylor, Elodie Walton, Ryan Wilkerson, Haleigh Williamson and Lindsay Stubbs.

Glade Hill Elementary - Daisy Brown, Sean Bryant, Jazmine Davis, Tamia Holland, John Michael Holley, Emanuel Hernandez-Merales, Madeline Lovern, Abigail Stone, Lily Torres and Jaden Shackelford.

Snow Creek Elementary - Alex Aguilar, Aidan Cahoon, Aiden Dalton, Jodi Hall, Lawson Pasley, Kaley Wells and Bellah Burch.

Sontag Elementary - Brianne Witcher, Adam Reed, Nicholas Arrington, Jacob Montgomery, Jacob Thurman, Chase Parcell, Phillip Smith, Journey Atkins, Yarelli Carbajal, Bobby Atkins, Logan Cadou, David Patterson and Brooke Long.

Boones Mill Elementary - Vanessa Arevalos, Hannah Bantner, Mary Miller, Olivia Thompson, Kylie Jackson, Lillian Call, Emily Green, Ethan Lowe, Adrianna Hart, Christopher Robertson, Mecayla Gray, Madison Bedwell, Evelyn Gordon and Jessica Bowman.

Callaway Elementary - Paige Harden, Lacie Morris, Weston Dobbins, Sebastian Ellis, Kaitlyn Hicks, Gordon Lentz, Christopher Campensa, Elizabeth Grimes and Jada Nelson.

Henry Elementary - Hannah Sherr, Denver Jamison, Grace Cook, Taylor Dake, Rachael Rasnick, Keili Brittain, Annabelle Hagy, Grant Whitlow and Serenity Coggins.

Ferrum Elementary - Zoe Nix, Moriah Quesenberry, C.J. Baker, Eileen Compton, Tearra Sink, Nancy Hernandez-Cruz, Skyla Schweigart, Bridget Prillaman and Neil Fredericksen.

Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
A-Co Heating & Cooling - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website