Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Wednesday, May 27, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

Autos By Nelson - Click for Website
Students recognized with special ceremony
School board has changed the venue for recognitions
Click to Enlarge
Staff Photo by Stacey Hairston: Brian Cromwell, Isiah Deare and Evan Hahn, all students from Dudley Elementary, are advanced medal winners in the 15th annual Chess for Kids Tournament. Above, they are congratulated by members of the Franklin County School Board. Not pictured is Tristan Pendleton from Ferrum Elementary who is also an advanced medal winner.

Wednesday, January 30, 2013


Franklin County School Board members hosted a ceremony Monday night in the FCHS auditorium to recognize the accomplishments of Franklin County students.

The recognitions and certificates are normally handed out during school board meetings, but board members felt the need to change the venue for the first time this year.

"We decided to hold the event in the high school auditorium this time so that more parents would have the opportunity to watch their child get recognized," said Ed Jamison, school board chairman.

Benjamin Franklin Middle School choir members selected for the All-District choir this fall received certificates of honor from school board members after singing two selections for their family members, friends and board members.

"Our students have worked very hard, and they've done very well," said choir director Brian Hodges. "They are very talented."

Several students from Franklin County High School's Chronic Illness Support Group, who were recently recognized by The Franklin News-Post for their work with hospitalized children at Carilion Roanoke Memorial Hospital, were commended for their volunteer efforts and given a certificate of commendation.

"I'm so proud of these guys and amazed at their generosity," said Andrea Ninehan, club sponsor and FCHS special education teacher.  

Winners in the 15th annual Chess for Kids Tournament were presented with certificates by GATEWAY coordinator Jodie Robinson.

First-place beginner level winners from Burnt Chimney Elementary School include Courtney Bryant, Luke Faber, Kaleb Hall, Colby Hatcher, Bradley Holmes, Michael Hurt, Logan Jones, Cynthia Lin, Skyler Meadows, Brandon Peevey, William Scott and Madeline Sellars.

First-place intermediate level winners from Callaway Elementary School include Chris Campensa, Zach Green, Shannon Holt, Gavin James, Mason McGrady, Landon Routon and Robbie Sigmon.

Advanced medal winners include Brian Cromwell, Isiah Deare and Evan Hahn from Dudley Elementary School and Tristan Pendleton from Ferrum Elementary.

Honors were also presented to student athletes who have shown exemplary performance in their respective sports.

The Franklin County Cheerleading Squad has been honored with the title of Western Valley District Champions for the ninth year in a row. They also placed ninth in the Northwest Region and qualified in the triple A state competition.

Cross Country athletes receiving certificates are Tyler Burgess, Taylor Lambert, Josh Lawson, Ethan Oakley Emily Philpott, Brooke Thornton, Sara Underwood, Tyler Williams and Melissa Teeple, who is the Western Valley District Girls Champion for the fourth year in a row and a triple A state qualifier.

Football athletes receiving certificates are Garrett Jennings, Kris Luckett, Alveno Matthews, Tyler Tune and Ray Witcher, who also received a Western Valley District honorable mention.

Franklin County's golf team won the Western Valley District Regular Season Championship and the Western Valley District Tournament Championship for the fourth year in a row. The team has also placed fourth in the Northwest Region tournament.

Golf athletes receiving certificates are Cameron Hicks, Jeremy Lester, Tyler Peterson, Landon Prillaman and Kolton Cooper, who is a 5th medalist in the Northwest Region Tournament and a triple A state tournament qualifier.

Volleyball athletes receiving certificates are Caitlin Churn, Linsey Schiemann and AnnTaylor Walker.

"I am very proud of all that our student athletes accomplish every season," said Decker. "They do an awesome job representing Franklin County High School."

Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website