Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, May 29, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

Autos By Nelson - Click for Website
Three schools honored by board of ed

Wednesday, January 23, 2013


Three Franklin County elementary schools have been recognized as Title 1 Distinguished Schools for the fifth consecutive year.

Callaway Elementary, Glade Hill Elementary and Lee M. Waid Elementary were again recognized by the Virginia Board of Education (BOE) for meeting all state and federal accountability requirements and achieving average reading and mathematics SOL scores at 60th percentile or higher.

Title 1 schools have a minimum of 35 percent of students eligible for free or reduced-priced meals.

Title 1 is the largest federal education funding program. It provides funding for high poverty schools to help students who are behind academically or at risk of falling behind.

"The progress we make in narrowing and ultimately closing achievement gaps depends in large measure on the efforts of teachers, principals and other educators in the commonwealth's Title I schools," said David Foster, BOE president. "The educators in the schools we are honoring today are leading the way. I congratulate them for their success in helping students overcome barriers and achieve at higher levels."

The federal education law, whose most recent reauthorization is also known as the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001, requires schools and school divisions to meet annual objectives for increasing student achievement on statewide assessments in reading/language arts and mathematics.

"The success of the teachers and students in these schools is particularly noteworthy given the challenging new mathematics SOL tests that were introduced during the 2011-2012 school year," said Patricia I. Wright, state superintendent of public instruction.

Each school will receive a certificate celebrating its status and achievement.

Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website