Click for NEWS Click for SPORTS Click for ACCENT Click for COLUMNS Click for OPINION Click for OBITUARIES Click for CALENDAR Click for CLASSIFIEDS Click for ARCHIVES Click for LAKE  
 Friday, May 22, 2015
Serving The Land Between the Lakes - Philpott and Smith Mountain
News Search   


The Franklin News-Post
P. O. Box 250
310 Main Street, SW
Rocky Mount, Virginia 24151
Fax: 540-483-8013

Campbell named 'Teacher of the Year'
The 1983 graduate of FCHS teaches journalism at the Gereau Center
Click to Enlarge
Staff Photo by Joel Turner: David Campbell, a journalism teacher at the Gereau Center, speaks after being named Franklin County Teacher of the Year for 2009.

Monday, May 12, 2008

By JOEL TURNER - Staff Writer

David Campbell, a journalism teacher at the Gereau Center, has been named Franklin County's Teacher of the Year for 2009.

Campbell, who helped students begin publishing a magazine and newspaper at the Gereau Center, is a former newspaper reporter and lead singer in a band called "Blue Dixie" for 10 years.

A 1983 graduate of Franklin County High School, Campbell came to the county to teach after being away for more than 15 years.

Campbell's selection was announced Thursday night at the school division's 19th annual Teacher Recognition Banquet in the Benjamin Franklin Middle School - West cafeteria.

At the banquet, dozens of teachers and school employees were recognized for perfect attendance, years of service and other achievements during this school year.

The theme for this year's banquet, which attracted more than 300 people, was "Teaching With Love."

Speaking briefly after the announcement of his selection as Teacher of the Year, Campbell said he was humbled by the award.

He was also Teacher of the Year at the Gereau Center.

In a show of gratitude for those who gave him the opportunity to teach in Franklin County schools, Campbell gave his plaques to Florella Johnson, retired associate superintendent of county schools, and Kevin Bezy, principal of the Gereau Center.

Johnson and Bezy provided "guidance and had the belief in me to give me a teaching job," Campbell said.

Commenting on his philosophy of teaching, Campbell said that teachers have "the blessing and the curse of striving to help students actualize their potential and ultimately their aspirations."

Teachers serve to achieve that end for students, he said.

"And along the way, they learn about English or math or science as they stretch, cultivate and improve their minds," Campbell said.

"But those are merely metaphors - avenues by which we teach and exemplify how to govern our lives and treat one another," Campbell added.

Campbell is a graduate of the University of Missouri with a bachelor's degree. He is the son of Dr. Sam Campbell, director of Helping Hands, a Franklin County community agency.

Bezy, who is Campbell's principal, said it is rare that an administrator sees the level of enthusiasm that Campbell reaches each day with students.

"David brings many experiences into his instruction. From band member to karate teacher to bread maker to professional journalist -- these experiences enrich the future of the students entrusted to David," Bezy said.

"David grew up in Franklin County, left to find himself, and returned to his home to help young people learn to be comfortable with themselves, find their strengths, and to know the importance of giving back to those all around them," Bezy said.

Ann Love, who was Franklin County's Teacher of the Year for 2008, assisted in the recognition of Campbell as Teacher of the Year for 2009 and the presentation of the other awards at the banquet.

At the banquet, plaques were presented to the teachers of the year for each school in the county for 2008-2009.

The following teachers were chosen by their peers as teacher of the year in their respective schools:

"Boones Mill, Tracy Brammer.

"Burnt Chimney, Christine Giffin.

"Callaway, Terri Naff.

"Dudley, Barbara Conner.

"Ferrum, Mary Jane Boone.

"Glade Hill, Jaimee Bralley.

"Henry, David Paquette.

"Lee M. Waid, Sharon Tavenner.

"Rocky Mount, Kay Saleeby.

"Snow Creek, Sandy Traylor.

"Sontag, Allison Guilliams.

"Benjamin Franklin-East, Andy Flora.

"Benjamin Franklin-West, Lanessa Sharp.

"Gereau Center, David Campbell.

"Franklin County High School, Kirk Adams.

"Franklin County High School, Carla Tyree.

"Franklin County High School, Charles Jamison.

At the banquet, the following Franklin County school employees were recognized for 10 years of service:

"Benjamin Franklin Middle School - Barbara Carper, Rachel Maddy and Jack Kubler.

"Boones Mill Elementary - Lisa Angell, Elizabeth Cline and Georginea Johnson.

"Burnt Chimney Elementary - Layne Altice, Jamie Bryant, Maureen Leitenberger and Heather Warden.

"Franklin County High School - Joseph Baraty, Gregg Cuddy, Stephanie Milliron, Larry Moore, Catherine Pinkley, Donald Wiggonton and Leanne Worley.

"Lee M. Waid Elementary - Betty Guy and Kimberly Stubbs.

"Dudley Elementary - Lisa Ashwell, Carol Cuddy, Betty Gill and Lisa Thornton.

"Ferrum Elementary - Amanda Brown, Tracy James and Natalie Quesenberry.

"Gereau Center - David Mellon, Neil Sigmon, Carol Swindell and David Thorp.

"Henry Elementary - Lisa Bowman and Sally Moore.

"Special Programs and Services - Dana Kelley.

"Technology Services - Jeffrey Bradshaw.

The following school employees were recognized for 20 years of service:

"Benjamin Franklin Middle School - Sharon Grindstaff, Veronica Gwynn and Carol Jones.

"Franklin County High School - Mary Phalen and Susan Richardson.

"Glade Hill Elementary - Diane Worley.

"Rocky Mount Elementary - Gail Brendle, Dona Minnick and Mary Sifers.

"Sontag Elementary - Vonda Bratton and Angela Strickler.

The following school employees were recognized for 25 years of service:

"Benjamin Franklin Middle School - Lisa Chitwood, Kenneth Clements and Diana Shively.

"Callaway Elementary - Elizabeth Corallo.

"Central Office - Robin Whitmer.

"Dudley Elementary - Sharon Wiseman.

"Franklin County High - Kirk Adams, Freda Givens, Diane O'Malley, Richard Searing and Cheryl Shepherd.

"Gereau Center - Susan Montgomery.

"Rocky Mount Elementary - Brenda Crawford.

"Technology Services - Catherine McGinnis.

Robert Deatherage - Asst. Commonwealth Atty - Click for Website
Harvester Center - Town of Rocky Mount - Click for Website
Angie McGhee-Quality Realty - Click for Website
Penny Hodges - Click for Website
Weichert - Click for Website
PHOEBE NEEDLES - Click for Website
Billy and Julie Kingery - Click for Website
Adam Lynch - Click for Website
Alpine Photography Studios - Click for Website